top of page

Virtual Office in Northumberland, our 2026 provider comparison

2 days ago
8 min read

Updated: 1 day ago

Published 16 September 2026 · SME Centre of Excellence, Main Street, Ponteland, Newcastle


A virtual office address in Northumberland costs between £14 and £100 per month as of September 2026. We checked every provider we could find with a physical Northumberland address in September 2026 and found seven, across just six towns. The SME Centre of Excellence provides a staffed Northumberland address on Main Street, Ponteland (NE20) for £20 per month on a 12-month plan, with no setup fee, free mail scanning and registered office use available at the same price. Most clients are live within 1 working day.

 

Cramlington, Morpeth, Bedlington, Prudhoe, Alnwick, Amble, Haltwhistle, Wooler, Seaton Delaval and Newbiggin-by-the-Sea have no provider publishing a business address service at a physical address in the town. 

 

Here is the full comparison of what is available across Northumberland, and the two compliance rules that decide whether an address is usable at all:

 

Every Northumberland virtual office provider, compared (checked September 2026)

Provider

 

 

Town

 

 

From (per month)

 

 

Registered office for Companies House

 

 

Best for

 

 

SME Centre of Excellence

 

 

Ponteland, NE20

 

 

£20

 

 

Additional at £20

 

 

Best overall: staffed, free scanning, no setup fee, 1 day setup, free use of kitchen, free coffee & tea, can be used as a Newcastle address too.

 

 

Muckles Yard

 

 

Rothbury, NE65

 

 

£20

 

 

Stated as included

 

 

Rural north, boardroom access on higher tiers

 

 

Samespace

 

 

Hexham, NE46

 

 

£14

 

 

This is a registered office address.

 

 

Tyne Valley coworking crossover, additional £1 per scanned sheet of mail, £1.50 per coffee, lots of addons

 

 

Advance Northumberland, Blyth Workspace

 

 

Blyth, NE24

 

 

£30

 

 

Claimed, terms unpublished

 

 

Blyth port and energy corridor

 

 

Advance Northumberland, Ashington Workspace

 

 

Ashington, NE63

 

 

£30

 

 

Claimed, terms unpublished

 

 

South east belt, three meeting rooms

 

 

Advance Northumberland, Wansbeck Workspace

 

 

Ashington, NE63

 

 

£30

 

 

Claimed, terms unpublished

 

 

Boardroom hire from £50 + VAT half day

 

 

Advance Northumberland, Berwick Workspace

 

 

Berwick, TD15

 

 

£30

 

 

Claimed, terms unpublished

 

 

Far north and cross-border trade

 

 

Greaves West & Ayre

 

 

Berwick, TD15

 

 

Not published

 

 

Available

 

 

Berwick businesses wanting address plus accountancy

 

 

P A Brown & Co

 

 

Morpeth, NE61

 

 

Free, conditional

 

 

Only while a year-end client

 

 

Morpeth firms already using them for accounts

 

 

Corbridge Business Centre

 

 

Corbridge, NE45

 

 

From £100

 

 

Available

 

 

Businesses wanting reception call answering too

 

 

 

Prices are the cheapest advertised plan on each provider's own website in September 2026, except Corbridge, whose price came from a directory listing. "Not published" means the provider does not state it publicly. Where VAT treatment is not published we have not assumed it.



What the cheapest option actually gets you

The £14 Samespace in Hexham is the lowest number in the county, but it is not the same product. Samespace provides it as a business address, and does not state clearly that it is used as a Companies House registered office. That is a meaningful difference as a trading address you put on invoices is not the same as the statutory address you file with Companies House. Be aware Samespace also charge £1.50 per use of the coffee vending machine and £1 per scanned sheet of mail on top and a whole lot of addons hidden when you go to sign up. (Prices current at September 2026).

 

And on transparency, the county is thin. Five of the seven providers publish no mail scanning terms. None except SME Centre of Excellence publish a setup-to-live timeframe. If you are comparing, ask all of them the same six questions:

 

  1. Is that price excluding VAT, and does it need annual billing?

  2. Is Companies House registered office use included, or extra?

  3. Is anyone on the premises during business hours to sign for post?

  4. Is mail scanning free, metered, or unavailable?

  5. Is there a setup fee?

  6. Do you carry out identity checks?

 

Which Northumberland towns have no virtual office provider?

As of September 2026, we could not find a provider publishing a virtual office or registered office address at a physical address in any of these towns:

 

Town

 

 

Population (2021)

 

 

Nearest published provider

 

 

Cramlington

 

 

28,845

 

 

Ponteland, roughly 20 minutes

 

 

Bedlington

 

 

16,185

 

 

Ashington, roughly 10 minutes

 

 

Morpeth

 

 

14,420

 

 

Accountant in town (conditional), or Ponteland roughly 25 minutes

 

 

Prudhoe

 

 

10,280

 

 

Corbridge or Hexham, roughly 15 minutes

 

 

Alnwick

 

 

8,435

 

 

Rothbury, roughly 25 minutes

 

 

Seaton Delaval

 

 

8,010

 

 

Ponteland, roughly 20 minutes

 

 

Newbiggin-by-the-Sea

 

 

5,950

 

 

Ashington, roughly 10 minutes

 

 

Amble

 

 

5,860

 

 

Rothbury, roughly 25 minutes

 

 

Haltwhistle

 

 

3,720

 

 

Hexham, roughly 20 minutes

 

 

Wooler

 

 

1,910

 

 

Berwick, roughly 30 minutes

 

 

 

This matters less than it looks. A registered office does not need to be in your own town, it needs to be an address you have permission to use, where post is properly handled. Plenty of Cramlington and Morpeth businesses use our Ponteland address precisely because it is close enough to collect post from and reads better on a proposal than a housing estate.


It can also be seen as a Newcastle address, more recognised than most Northumberland towns.


 

The rule that decides whether an address is usable: "appropriate address"



Since 4 March 2024, under the Economic Crime and Corporate Transparency Act 2023, a company's registered office must be an appropriate address.


That means:

  • Documents sent there must be capable of coming to the attention of a person acting on behalf of the company

  • Delivery must be capable of being recorded by an acknowledgement

 

PO boxes no longer qualify and an unstaffed mail drop is unlikely to.


Plus if Companies House decides your registered office is not appropriate, it can change it to a default address held at Companies House. You then have 28 days to supply a proper address with evidence of your link to it, and if you don't, the registrar can begin strike-off proceedings. Anyone can also apply to have a company's registered office rectified if they believe the address is not appropriate.

 

So when you consider Northumberland providers, the question is not "how cheap" but "is somebody actually there". A locked mailbox in a corridor cannot acknowledge delivery but a staffed reception can.


And the identity verification deadline

Companies House identity verification became mandatory for new directors and PSCs on 18th November 2025. Existing directors verify by their next confirmation statement, within a transition window closing in November 2026. Companies House expects 6 to 7 million people to go through it, and acting as an unverified director past your deadline is an offence.

 

A provider who doesn't check who you are is a red flag about the address itself. Our onboarding includes an ID check for exactly that reason.

 

Can I use a Northumberland virtual office on my Google Business Profile?


No, and we would rather be upfront about that, than get your listing suspended.

 

Google's guidelines are very explicit that if a business rents a physical mailing address but doesn't operate out of that location, also known as a virtual office, that location isn't eligible for a Business Profile.


Coworking addresses only qualify with your own signage, your own staff on site during stated hours, and customers genuinely received there. Using a mailbox address on a Business Profile is one of the most common causes of suspension, and getting verified is not protection because Google can pull the profile months later.

 

If you work from home or travel to customers, which describes most Northumberland trades, the correct setup is a service area business. So verify using your real operating address, hide it from the public profile, and define the areas you serve. Google's own guidance says exactly that.

 

So be clear on the split. A virtual office fixes Companies House, your invoices, your contracts and your privacy. A service-area Google Business Profile fixes your local visibility. Any provider in this county telling you one address does both is selling you a suspension.

 

Virtual office vs registered office


 

 

Virtual office

 

 

Registered office

 

 

What you get

 

 

A trading address, no space

 

 

The address you file with Companies House

 

 

Cost in Northumberland

 

 

£14 to £100/month

 

 

£20/month at SME CofE

 

 

Commitment

 

 

Monthly or 12 month

 

 

Monthly or 12 month

 

 

Business rates

 

 

None

 

 

None

 

 

Best for

 

 

Website, invoices, contracts, privacy

 

 

Keeping your home off the public register

 

 

 

 

Why businesses across Northumberland use our Ponteland virtual office address


Main Street, Ponteland, Newcastle upon Tyne NE20 9NH. £20 per month excluding VAT, 12-month plan, no setup fee.


  • Genuinely staffed. Someone is here during business hours to sign for your post, which is the whole appropriate-address test

  • Free mail scanning. Scanned and emailed to you, no per-item charge. No other Northumberland provider publishes this

  • Registered office at the same price if needed, so you can file it with Companies House and HMRC

  • Live in 1 working day after your onboarding call, ID check and contract

  • A boardroom you can walk a client into, with free parking, two miles from Newcastle International Airport

  • Dual identity. NE20's post town is Newcastle upon Tyne, so the address reads as both Northumberland and Newcastle. County credibility but also city recognition.

  • Around 20 minutes from Cramlington, 25 from Morpeth, 20 from Seaton Delaval and inside the airport corridor.

 

Also available: hot desking and coworking from £30 per day at Workspace+ at Airview Park by Newcastle Airport, boardroom hire, accountancy, and cost reduction.

 

 

Comparing city options too? Read our 2026 Newcastle virtual office buyer's guide, or our guide to office space in Ponteland. Still using your home address? Start with can I use my home address for business in the UK.


Between about £14 and £100 per month. Checked on 16 September 2026: Samespace in Hexham from £14 for a business address only, SME Centre of Excellence in Ponteland and Muckles Yard in Rothbury at £20, Advance Northumberland at £30 across Blyth, Ashington and Berwick, and Corbridge Business Centre from £100. Two Northumberland accountants offer a registered office address without publishing a price.

Six: Ponteland, Blyth, Ashington, Berwick-upon-Tweed, Rothbury, Corbridge and Hexham. Cramlington, Morpeth, Bedlington, Prudhoe, Alnwick, Amble, Haltwhistle, Wooler, Seaton Delaval and Newbiggin-by-the-Sea have none.

No provider publishes a virtual office or registered office address at a physical address in either town as at 16 September 2026. Cramlington has serviced offices and business parks but no address-only service. In Morpeth the only registered office offer we found is from an accountant, conditional on remaining a year-end client. Businesses in both towns typically use a provider elsewhere in the county: Ponteland is around 20 minutes from Cramlington and 25 from Morpeth.

Samespace in Hexham has the lowest headline price at £14 per month, but publishes a business address rather than a confirmed Companies House registered office, so it is not directly comparable. Among providers confirming registered office use, the SME Centre of Excellence and Muckles Yard are joint cheapest at £20 per month.

Yes, provided it is an appropriate address under the rules in force since 4 March 2024. Documents sent there must be capable of coming to the attention of a person acting for the company, and delivery must be capable of being acknowledged. PO boxes do not qualify. A staffed business centre does.

No. Google's guidelines state that a rented mailing address the business does not operate from is not eligible for a Business Profile, and using one is a common cause of suspension. If you work from home or travel to customers, set up as a service-area business, verify with your real operating address, hide it from the public profile and define your service areas.

Yes. Ponteland is a Northumberland town of around 10,150 people at the 2021 census. Its NE20 postcode has Newcastle upon Tyne as its post town, so the address reads as both Northumberland and Newcastle upon Tyne.

Yes, if you are a director or a person with significant control. Mandatory for new appointments since 18 November 2025, and existing directors verify by their next confirmation statement within a window closing in November 2026. A provider who does not check who you are is a warning sign about the address.

At the SME Centre of Excellence, most clients are live within 1 to 2 working days once the onboarding call, ID verification, contract and payment are complete. No other Northumberland provider publishes a timeframe.

Six things: whether the price excludes VAT and needs annual billing, whether registered office use is included or extra, whether the premises are staffed during business hours, whether scanning is free or metered, whether there is a setup fee, and whether identity checks are carried out. Most Northumberland providers publish a headline price and little else, so ask for all six in writing.


ADDRESS AND CONTACT INFO

SME Centre of Excellence logo

Address: 17 Main Street, Ponteland, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE20 9NH


Contact us


 SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

Thank you for your subscription.

Turkey Address: Abdi Ipekçi Cd, Nisantasi
34367 Istanbul - Turkey

Our Charity Partner

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • YouTube

Copyright 2026 © – SME Centre of Excellence – ICO Registration No: ZA349746

bottom of page